Engine dies

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by kmans777, Apr 24, 2006.

1. kmans777

kmans777 LawnSite Member

Hi all, first time poster. I have a Ryobi trimmer plus with the curved shaft. Several years old. The only model number I see is 725R, 31CC. Looked on the Ryobi site but no help there. I am a mechanic by trade but no experience on these engines. Trimmer started off with wanting to die out when pulling the throttle trigger. Not always, a couple of times then it would clear itself. Now when I start it, it's like it just burns the fuel from priming then dies. Prime it again and starts back up, then dies. I've taken the carb apart and all looks as it should. Seems to run fine as long as it has fuel. Fuel starvation seems to be the problem but the lines appear to be clear and fuel runs out of them when disconnected. Any help appreciated.
  2. oldrustycars

oldrustycars LawnSite Senior Member

the additives in the fuel deteriorate the fuel lines. running will suck the lines closed. no one will have ryobi parts, its a homeowner machine, and at 59 bucks you cant soend much shop time fixing them, so they dont bother with the parts. you may be able to match up lines from something else. stihl has a few sizes, and any mower shop should have Tygon brand line that may work. i also have a ryobi. a straight shaft i got from 89 at sams club. i have 4 years on it, and know its on borrowed time. someone on here brought up that these cheapo trimmers are designed to run about 20 hours.
    by the way, i just got done with 3 stihl machines with the same problem. fuel line fixed all three, but i also rebuilt the carbs at the customers request.
  3. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas