Engine Heating the Grass when parked

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by PKS, Jun 28, 2007.

1. PKS

PKS LawnSite Member

Recently I demo'd a 3066 SuperZ at my house. I am new to this type of machine. As such, I parked it on the lawn a few times while letting the engine idle so I could survey the machine and the cutting we had done.

A few days later, we noticed patches of dried out grass that had a very distinct shape. A little bit like a V. Each of these patches, as since died.

After thinking things over, I realized the V shaped patches were from the engine's heat blowing down onto the grass. That's an easy problem for me to avoid in the future.

My question are:
    1) has anyone else observed this problem?
    2) has anyone installed a heat shield under the engine to prevent this?
    3) did I find a quirk that other ztr users have known about?
    4) did I do something all newbees do?:hammerhead:

Thank you.
  2. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Syracuse, NY

This can happen in drier times of the year, I would try to not park on the lawn while the engine is running, if you do idle it down.
    We have installed some shields in the past.
    Talk to your dealer, they can get one installed for you.
  3. timmac

timmac LawnSite Senior Member

i used to have this problem and installed the shields and it solved my problem.
  4. RobinM

RobinM LawnSite Member

My FasTrak 54/20 is burning the grass, too. The areas are the size and shape of the muffler. It looks like it's doing it when I slow down to turn..... I don't stop while I'm mowing. I've talked to my dealer who then talked to his rep...... some mufflers are faulty and overheat. He'll test mine and we'll install the heat shield... when it comes out in a month, or so.