1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Engine not running right...

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Horsepower Lawns, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Horsepower Lawns

Horsepower Lawns LawnSite Member

2. progressivelawncare

progressivelawncare LawnSite Member

3. mississippiturf

mississippiturf LawnSite Senior Member

This is an easy one!! Its that bent tail pipe causing your problems. I'm a heart surgeon, I should know!!!!
  4. SLR

SLR LawnSite Gold Member

do not listen to Missisippiturf. It is the main jet filters that will do this sort of damage every stinking time to any engine.
    Fluid Film in gas tank the only remedy,mix @ 5:1 per tank.
  5. Phil G

Phil G LawnSite Senior Member

Ain't seen anything like that for a l-o-n-g time, neat photos
    atb Phil
  6. Horsepower Lawns

Horsepower Lawns LawnSite Member

Can I put this stuff in to fix it?

I don't know if it would work because its for the wall & my cly. wall look good.
    Maybe that stuff and a little J B Weld.

It should be good as new.

Does anybody know what would cause this?
    I think the spark plug may have come apart & took out the exh. valve.
    The push rod was off the exh. valve but I don't think thats what did it because the spring is still "good" so it would have closed the valve before it hit the piston.
  7. sawman65

sawman65 LawnSite Senior Member

this is what kaw will tell ya if you were going to try to warranty this engine. NO WAY!!!! even if it only had 10 hours on it. the reason they claim is because you used bad gas this caused the valve to stick open your fault.and i am not kidding
  8. jkilov

jkilov LawnSite Bronze Member
    from MS