engine oil ??????

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by nokomower, Aug 15, 2002.

1. nokomower

nokomower LawnSite Member

I am a auto mechanic by trade and I am begining to start my own lawn care business. Being in Florida with the high heat and tough grass, I use a straight 40 wt. due to sand and dust and sever service every 50 hrs filter and oil . I have a Grasshopper 614
    18 hp b/s and a exmark 25 hp kohler. I was told by many shops about amsoil synthetic oil and bypass filter kits for my exmark but the cost of $250 for this oil filter kit seems high. The oil wether it is conventional or synthetic is only good until the saturation point is reached and the life of the oil is then over. The only way to know this is to have the oil analyzed. Other l/c owners say they go 150 hours with amsoil and bypass filter kits I think a conventional oil and filter changed before saturation would be equivelent. The manufacturer of the engines researched and analyzed the oil and amount of time between changes. My question is
    With the cost of down time and repairs are there any advantages of using synthetic or conventional oil????? I was told amsoil doesn't remove heat from air cooled engines. Is this true?
    Thanks for any imput.

2. dynodp1

dynodp1 LawnSite Member

why are you using a 40w ... most manufactures recommend a 30w on temps from40 degrees and up... 10w-30 on tems under 40 to 5 degrees or so...
    a 40w oil is to thick , it'll cause excessive wear during start up...... especially in colder weather.... you may also find it harder to start with the 40w .... use a detergent oil

stay away from multiviscocity oils... and no extra additive stuff..... they are designed for cars, not the hotter temp air cooled engines...

synthetics only cost more, and don't give you any more extended service time.....

3. khouse

khouse LawnSite Bronze Member