engineered wall ?

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by STRINGALATION, Sep 3, 2007.

STRINGALATION LawnSite Senior Member

what makes a wall engineered and when is that required? and who engineers it? not to sound stupid just hearing tearms like geogrid and what not. any info is helpful but please know what your talking about. prefer responces from tthomass , mrusk, cgland and guys of similiar caliber. please no offence to any body i just hate conflicting answers
  2. Captains Landscape

Captains Landscape LawnSite Senior Member

How about a long story short?
    These blocks are "pre-engineered"...thats why every F'n homeowner thinks they can build walls with SRW blocks. "Pre-engineered" up to a certain height that is, which is usually 4'. It all depends on the block manufacturer. Oh and a geotechnical engineer.
    NCMA Cert
    ICPI Cert
  3. tthomass

tthomass LawnSite Gold Member
    from N. VA

I have limited experience with engineers far as dealing directly with them. Typically such jobs are brought to me with the engineering already done.

What happens is when a wall reaches 4' you should really have an understanding of what is taking place. An engineer will visit the site, study the conditions.....soil, slope, load etc.....then determine what the forces are that are being applied to the structure. A wall that goes 10' tall and is flat or even down hill behind it requires less engineerying/studying and strength then say a 10' wall with a 15% slope that raises final elevation another 10'. Such a wall would have much more of a load against it.

Engineering is simply problen solving by someone who is certified. We, the contractor, may know what needs to be done BUT you always want to use an engineer. That way, if you follow their instructions the structure is supposed to have been built correctly and you limit your liability.