Equipment ?? -- Gravely ZTR & Toro WB

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by RoewMow, Jan 26, 2002.

1. RoewMow

RoewMow LawnSite Member

Hey guys I am new in the business and need some help. My brother and I have started a service and need advice on the best equipment for the money.

We are looking at a 2002 Gravely 260Z w/ 25hp Kaw. and a Gravely or Toro Walk Behind (hydro or gear?). Big investment and we're sweating it out.

Typical lots to be cut are gas stations and restaurants as well as large (3 - 5 acre) residential lots.

Any feedback on the above equipment? Thanks and look forward to hearing back from you. :cool:

2. C4chris70

C4chris70 LawnSite Senior Member

I really don't know too much about the Gravely line, but I would highly recommend a Toro walk behind. I purchased a 36 inch Toro belt drive with a 14hp Kohler 14 years ago, and this mower still starts on the first pull and cuts beautifully. If you can swing the added costs of the hydro it would be a good investment, however since you are just starting out you will want to keep your spending to a minimum. Best of luck with your new business.

3. Mark

Mark LawnSite Senior Member

Do a search on the Mowers,youll get a idea of what is some of the best equipment. I think instead of the gravely rider id try a exmark or toro z master and use the gravely for a walkbehind. Id also get at least a 52" or larger for the accounts youve shown. Like i said hit the search,then demo what your really interested in. Marks Mowing Service Dixie choppers are great mowers also, The most important thing is a great dealer thats a first. Good Luck

4. thartz

thartz LawnSite Senior Member

5. RoewMow

RoewMow LawnSite Member