1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

??? Equipment life ???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by PMLAWN, Jul 15, 2004.

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

I have been doing this for 3 years now and none of my stuff is wore out YET. Some is new this year.
    I am starting to do more large jobs (25 and 32 hours per week) and need to be closer with my overhead projections. Been searching and think that the 100 hour per HP (mowers) seems like a common answer but is that real and what about hand held stuff like trimmers. all my 3 year old stuff is 2 cyc. and the newer is 4 mix by Stihl.
    All maintenance is by the book,
    01 belt 48" Exmark 15hp Kaw
    (2) 03 belt 48" Exmark 15hp Kaw
    04 hydro 48"TThp 17hp Kaw
    04 hydro Proline 36" 15 kolher
    04 Toro 27 hp 60" 500 Kolher
    (2) Plugger 800 Honda 03
    (4) Echo 230's and 260's trimmers and edgers 01
    (3) Stihl 4 mix 04

I thank you for any help you may have to offer.
    Now if anybody can tell how many hours a 40something body has left that would be super.
  2. BMFD92

BMFD92 LawnSite Senior Member

My father used to have a business and I am using twenty year old push blowers. But I recently bought two new ones. Point being with proper care anyones equipment can last long.

P.S- how is that Exmark TTHP? looking at one now just wanna know how good they are,
  3. Stripe This

Stripe This LawnSite Member

Production is the word with the TTHP 48" It's a fantastic unit and if you haven't had a hydro mower, you'll kill yourself for not making the change sooner. We have the 17 hp Kawi w/ the electric start...just fits our needs better with the enclosed trailer.
  4. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member