1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Equipment upgrades!!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Tom c., Oct 21, 2006.

1. Tom c.

Tom c. LawnSite Member

Hey fellas Ive been doing lawncare for a few years. My equipment consists of a 03 dodge 4x4 p/u, a 05 open trailer, a 05 36in bobcat w/b belt drive, 2 string trimmers and 2 blowers and 2 21in mowers. I maintain 15-18 residential properties avg size 5-10k sg ft. This I do part time. :hammerhead: Im probably gonna get a medium size commercial property in the spring[ it takes about 3-4 hrs to cut and trim].All my equipment is paid off except for the truck and the mower. The mower will be paid off in the spring. Im thinking of adding a zero turn to my equipment. I have ;) 6-8 residentials and the commercial i could use it on. I dont have alot of overhead [ i work out of my home] .Do you think I should go for the zero or would a 48 in w/b be a better choice. I kinda thought sittin and cruisin will make the job easier. PS Im gonna go full time next year. Thanks for any input;)
  2. prostriper

prostriper LawnSite Senior Member

Being that there are only a few lawns you could use one on you may be better off going with a 52" or 60" walk-behind, unless you want to sit down on the job. But for residential a w/b is a little faster due to all she smaller things you need to work around(the air conditioner, downspouts, small trees, landscaping, etc.). I know gravely makes a real productive w/b that runs at 8 mph, one of the fastest w/b out there.
  3. hornett22

hornett22 LawnSite Senior Member