estimate mistakes

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by laborador, Jul 4, 2005.

1. laborador

laborador LawnSite Member

I am still learning the skill of estimating. While learning, mistakes will be made. I was curious about the opinions you guys have about this question. Is is better to bid high and not get accounts and then start bidding lower to get them or is it better to bid low and get the accounts and start bidding higher until you start losing them.
  2. jtrice11

jtrice11 LawnSite Senior Member

IMO, there is a fine line between the two philophies you've outlined. If you bid high, and have no work, your business is worthless. If you bid too low, you hurt yourself and the industry. I would try and find out roughly what the competition is charging and be competitive with that. I also believe in bidding a little low for large commercial work, its nice to land big accounts...less running around. Then if you are able to keep those big jobs, you can increase your price later on.
  3. o-so-n-so

o-so-n-so LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Alabama

I think you must bid everything to make a decent profit. If that price is to high for your customer...move on or you will work for free. If you get the work then you have managed your P's and Q's very well.
  4. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

I think it makes a difference if you are part time or full time. When you are start out as a full time you need work and then I think you bid low. As time goes on and if you are solo you replace the low profit margin customers by biding higher. Part time guys want a large profit margin so they "cherry pick" their customers. Hard to do that that when you are starting out as a full time guy.

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

Very good point, ed2hess...the full-timer has a lot more on the line than the part-timer.

When I drive off from an estimate now, I prefer to ask myself the question "Did I bid it too high?" rather than "Did I bid it too low?" :D
  6. sheshovel