Estimate, please help

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Firefighter1428, Nov 1, 2006.

1. Firefighter1428

Firefighter1428 LawnSite Member

I have been doing landscaping and grass cutting for 5 years now and Im having a first. I have been doing residential customers since the start but recently got some phone calls from Comercial properties.

I recieved a call yesterday from a church looking for an estimate to cut their 6 acer lot. Being that Ive only done residential properties I have no clue on what to his job so go for. Its a farely wide open lot, not alot of trim work but it use be a farm field up until 2 years ago when the church was built so during the main cutting season there will probly be wild field mixed into the grass. Anyone out there know what a good price would be or a way to estimate. Being a church and a new one at that Im not sure of the budhet they have for this service. Im sure Im bidding against a few other companies also but I would like to get this site.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Not to get smart, but do you have something to cut this with?
    I'd say at least a 48" Wb but really a Z, to reduce the drag.
    I'm just saying, if it takes you much over an hour / acre, might be ok, but 8 hours is pushing things for one job.
    You still need some kind of way to determine if your mower will take the rough: Maybe see if you can test it in a smaller area.

I've given a price once to a church...
    I noticed right away they didn't want to spend a lot...
    I do not know if this is the case with all churches, but I suspect there may be some truth to it?

So for me a price for that size lot would be $200 ($33.33 / acre) / cut.
    But whether I'd get the job is an entirely different story...
    I'd still bid $200 myself, and that's still cheap in my neck of the woods.

3. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member