Estimates for hedge trimming

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Coop, Jul 4, 2000.

1. Coop

Coop LawnSite Member

I am new to the business and I have a customer that is looking for an estimate for trimming 140` of hedges 6` tall. What would be a reasonable estimate and what kind of equiptment would you use

2. little green guy

little green guy LawnSite Senior Member

The way i estamate hedges is by figuring out about how long it will take and charge an hourly rate. <p>I use commercail gas powered double recipricating hedge trimmers to cut the hedges. I also bring a backpack blower, rake, green barrel, hand prunners, an other person or two and sometimes a ladder. hope this helps

3. osc

osc LawnSite Senior Member

I look at it by the day, if it takes me 1/2 day with no help, I want atleast $350.00. If full day with no help then atleast $500.00.

4. yardsmith

yardsmith LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

Dittos on figuring it by hourly, & also add in how many loads of hauling it'll take to cart it away too.<br>If I will have a helper, figure in their hrs. too (naturally).<p>----------<br>Smitty ô¿ô<br>

5. thelawnguy

thelawnguy LawnSite Silver Member

How wide? If under 6 feet wide I would charge $140. $1/foot with my 6-4 frame and 37 inch sleeve and 30 inch trimmer it'd be done and cleaned up in an hour, maybe $8 for the tipping fee for disposal of the debris. If you use hand shears well then charge by the hour.<p>Bill

6. AGG Lawn Maintenance

AGG Lawn Maintenance LawnSite Senior Member
    from Elberon

On an hourly rate!! ($40/hour for my company)<br>Plus anything we haul away $50.00 per pick up load. Use a two man crew one on a ladder doing the top and one on the ground cutting both sides. If the hedge is right next to a street you might be able to cut it standing in a pick up truck. Also check into a Echo line trimmer that you can put a hedge trimming attachment.<br>Good luck Travis AG&G Lawn Maintenance :)

7. bill phagan

bill phagan Guest