Estimation of walls, columns, etc

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by MarcusLndscp, Sep 9, 2004.

1. MarcusLndscp

MarcusLndscp LawnSite Senior Member

This question is a bit complex because of the many factors that go along with doing stone work. I've been doing high end stone work for 10 years now and no matter what company I have worked for they always seem to have a hard time pricing the construction of them. Whether it's the materials or the labor something is always wrong. I'm looking for an idea of facial square footage per man hour for building columns (dry and wet laid), for building retaining walls (dry and wet), and for building double sided walls (dry and wet). My current employer uses Means along with experience for his rates but sometimes doesn't see all the details.
    For example we recently finished 2 columns at a driveway entrance out of southbay quartzite, wet laid, 3' by 3' square and 6 ' 6" tall. One column was split in two to allow for a mechanical cedar gate to slide through from right to left as you drove in. So this column was actually two walls, each was 1' by 3' with stone connecting the two at the top..........the opening for the gate was obviously 1' wide. This split column as a result had 8 corners to build which is a time consumer, and each one being only 1' wide was a time factor as well as both sides in and out had to be rock face. The stone was to be laid to have a dry stack look and with pieces of various sizes........from 1" thick pieces to 12" thick pieces. Also incorporated were knox boxes for fire department access, key pads for entry, and conduits for future lighting. Just throwing this out there to see how you guys price these jobs.
    By the way I can't emphasize high end work enough - tight tight joints, corners that are perfectly plumb/crisp and lots of style and class to the way each stone is laid and weaved in with the next.
  2. landscapingpoolguy

landscapingpoolguy LawnSite Senior Member