ever have health problems from pesticides?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by bobbygedd, Apr 27, 2004.

1. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ

how long have u been applying, and have u ever had health problems from exposure?

2. DiscoveryLawn

DiscoveryLawn LawnSite Senior Member

I have been applying since 1989. the only problems I had was with Diazanon back in the early 90's when I was most diffenately over-exposed. I had the jitters for 3 days and lost much control of my motor skills for awhile. Tried to put fork of food in my mouth and kept sticking myself in the side of my face. Would reach for something and would miss it over and over again. ...many other things.
    I'm glad those days are over. I have not had any problems in ten years or so though. I am much smarter with the way I handle pesticides now.
    David

3. DiscoveryLawn

...by the way. i have never had any long-term problems.
    David

4. morturf

morturf LawnSite Senior Member
    from midwest

I have been near applications since 1963. I followed my father around while he sprayed for my whole youth. I worked with him all the time. When I was 16 I got my license to apply, there was no rule then about how old you had to be so I got it. Have been applying ever since. I am almost 43. I spent the better part of a month a year for at least 15 years applying Diazinon granular and never had a problem. I spent more time in this stuff than anybody I know and I never have a problem. I am not a nut about being covered with all the layers you can be, I do wear long pants all the time in the application season. I think a lot of common sense is in order. DON'T PICK YOUR NOSE WHEN YOU ARE APPLYING!!!!!!!....:)