exmark 36" hydro walk behind

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CLEANCUT007, Apr 28, 2008.

1. CLEANCUT007

CLEANCUT007 LawnSite Member

any idea on prices for one of these new? are they good machines?

2. I bought one at the beginning...

Depending on what you're using it for... For example, if you're just starting out - save your money and get a belt-drive. On a mower that small, if you do well and get a lot of customers, you won't use it much. And if you DON'T do well, you won't have a $4500 mower sitting in the garage collecting dust.

Besides, if you're just starting out, you'll never know the difference between the two..

If you just want to know if Exmark makes a good machine - the answer is yes.

3. CLEANCUT007

i am just getting started in a new location i moved to last year. i was in business before for 5 yrs but did only commercial accounts. i am now picking up residential and commercial accounts. i have a 52" ztr as a primary mower but it will not fit in some back gates on these residential yrds and would like to have a walk behind for steep slopes as well. the main reason i am looking at the hydro is for the sled option. would like to put an empolyee on it while i run the ztr. i have never operated a walk behind and know very little about them. could a belt driven mower pull a sled with a 250 lb dude on it?

4. amscapes03

amscapes03 LawnSite Senior Member

I have two Exmarks, a 36" and a 48", both belt drive. Both excellent machines. I'm pretty sure the standon is not recommended for the belt drives, and also voids the two year warranty. If the guy using the machine is 250 lb. sounds like he should be walking, not riding.

5. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

I have to agree with some parts of your post, and disagree with other parts of your post. In my second year, I bought an Exmark Viking, 36" deck, hydro drive. It was the best thing I could have done.