Exmark Lazer Vs. Toro Z Master 280

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gunpowder, Jan 17, 2003.

1. gunpowder

gunpowder LawnSite Member
    from Indiana

I am a manager for a not-for-profit park that trades mowers every year. I have had a 1999 Exmark Lazer 25hp52", a 2000 Lazer25hp 60", 2001 Lazer 27HPLQ 60", and a 2002 Lazer 27HPLQ60". I am the only employee so I ran the above machines.

I have sold my 2002 mower and was all ready to go with EXMARK again but one of my directors recieved a quote from a local Toro dealer for a Zmaster 280 configured the same (27HPLQ 62") for a little less money. I have checked the machine out but am still not convinced one way or the other.

Never had much problems with the Exmark but the best Exmark quote is with a dealer over an hour away while the Toro dealer is 10 minutes!

I would like to talk to someone who is familiar with the two machines and especially with the Toro SFS deck. The major differances to be concerned with I see is is the deck (deepness and guage of metal differs. Toro dealer claims they have more welding), the seat (deluxe standard on the Toro in the Z280), the frame (Guage thickness), Z stand on the Toro, and blades (Atomic/Gator vs. excalabers).

Resale value is extremely important to me as I trade every year and considering the factory not-for-profit discount have sold every machine for the price of the replacement! I usually have very low hours on the machines at the end of the season.

I like to stretch my mowing to every other week so grass may be tall and I have also been known to mow in the rain (wet grass).
    Yes, I know Toro bought Exmark.

Has anyone had experience with both machines?

2. Brieldo

Brieldo LawnSite Member