exmark lazer z

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LawnMowerKing10, Dec 14, 2006.

1. LawnMowerKing10

LawnMowerKing10 LawnSite Senior Member

I mow alot of wet tall thick tall fescue grass , are the lazer z any good?

2. MDLawnman

MDLawnman LawnSite Member

I have a Lazer Z 52". I've had it for three years. I leaves a beautiful cut and a ball park looking yard - as long as the grass is dry to damp. Don't get me wrong it will cut the high wet stuff, but it throws out clumps of grass that I have to mow over again sometimes three times before it looks right. If I had to buy another mower right now I'd most likely buy another one. I've read on this site that the new Exmark decks have solved this problem but I have no first hand experience with them.

I am sometimes dubious about how people on this site say their mower is the best thing ever. There must be a mower out there that handles the wet grass, but I don't know which one it is.

My theory is that manufacturers of mowers construct them under the premise that we as LCO's cut grass using the 1/3 rule - we always cut the grass at the exact moment that it is ready - not once a week when we're hacking off 3 to 4 inches.

If you find a zero turn mower that will handle the wet grass - and you can prove it with pictures or whatever - please let me know!

3. LawnMowerKing10

mdlawn man have you owned a toro z master if so is it as good as an exmark lazer z

4. MDLawnman

MDLawnman LawnSite Member

No sir - I've never tried a Toro anything. Some on this site say the "Turbo" design deck works well.

5. LawnMowerKing10

so exmark is the only mower you have/tried ?

6. prostriper

prostriper LawnSite Senior Member