Exmark LazerHP w/ 19 Kaw won't start -HELP

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by amrupp, Jul 12, 2005.

1. amrupp

amrupp LawnSite Member
    from buffalo

I've been running my Exmark HP with 19 Kaw for three years without problem. All of a sudden, it won't start. I can spray carb cleaner in the carb and she'll run until I stop spraying. So far, I've replaced the fuel filter, fuel pump, ignition switch, float and pin. I've pulled and cleaned the carb, replaced all gaskets, everything looks good. But the stinkin thing still won't fire up.

I'm a small operator who mows neighborhood lawns only, so I don't have a trailer to transport to the dealer, which is over an hour away anyway. Any suggestions as to what the problem could be?
  2. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

Does fuel run out of the float bowl if you loosen the bowl nut ? Does this engine have the fuel shut-off solenoid on the carb.,Some models do and with out model & spec. numbers I don't know. If not I would recheck the main jet for being clogged,If not it could possibly be weak spark, Carb. cleaner has a much higher burn rate than fuel !
    Just a couple thoughts.
  3. KathysLGC

KathysLGC LawnSite Bronze Member

Rob does the fuel pump run off voltage? I'm wondering if this could be a low voltage issue.

AM is gas getting to the carb?
  4. amrupp

amrupp LawnSite Member
    from buffalo

Thanks for the help so far. Since it the engine would fire with carb cleaner being sprayed in, I figured the plugs were OK. Now that you mention the burn rate, I'll go ahead and replace them too.