exmark or ferris?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LawnScapesofAmerica, Mar 12, 2004.

1. LawnScapesofAmerica

LawnScapesofAmerica LawnSite Member

Hi all: Need some advice on the following two mowers? I have been using Ferris for the past 10 years and am very happy with the quality of work that they do. However I am always looking to improve our position in the market place, and so I have been made an offer by a local dealer to purchase his brand new exmark
    "leftover" Lazer Z 72" with a 26 hp EFI Kohler for 7500.00.

He also has another 2003 72" Lazer Z Liquid-Cooled for 7900.00
    once again, not a bad deal!!!!!

My question to all is do I make the swithch, from ferris to exmark, if I do I would change over a 5 of my mowers to the exmark and run just one brand............... any advice would be great, thanks

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Hmmm...something to think about. I have had around 15 or more Ferris machines in the last 9 years. I would think you should consider Dealer support right bout now...

BTW, I am a big Ferris fan as most here knows...

3. Grass Master

Grass Master LawnSite Senior Member

ExMark.......

You'll never look back....awesome machine with an awesome cutting deck!!

4. rodfather

I just love those "shoot from the hip" responses like these...And you are baseing this all on what??? Fill us in please...

5. dvmcmrhp52

dvmcmrhp52 LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Pa.

I'm an exmark guy,so you know what I'll say.
    Rodfather is correct concerning dealer support,but they do sound like some pretty good prices for the exmark's.

Here's a thought........Go red.

6. rodfather

LOL...good one:D

7. advantagelawn

advantagelawn LawnSite Member

Liquid cooled is the only way to go. Better fuel economy, more power.

8. bayfish

bayfish LawnSite Senior Member