Exmark or Gravely?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DSTR, Feb 19, 2003.

1. DSTR

DSTR LawnSite Member

I'm looking at the Exmark 32" w/b (M3213KA) and the Gravely 32" Pro G (GR1332), primarily for residential lawns. I understand this is the first year for the Gravely 32". I like the bigger tires on this machine as well as the spring loaded pins to adjust the deck height. Both mowers have the Kawasaki 13 hp engine, same transmission. The Exmark weighs 420 lbs and the Gravely weighs 500 lbs.

Am interested in your comments and wanting to know if anyone has had any problems with either machine. Anyone ever use this size w/b with a stand-up sulky?

2. IBGreen

IBGreen LawnSite Senior Member

I'd pick exmark over Gravely anyday. What is the price difference in the two.

3. mowngrow

mowngrow LawnSite Senior Member

between the two i would go with the exmark, but only because i have no experience with gravely. i have a buddy that has three gravely w/bs and he has not had any problems other than routine maint. and a trans.

4. IBGreen

IBGreen LawnSite Senior Member

Talk to Bill Davis about Gravely wb's he's got one.

5. polecat63

polecat63 LawnSite Silver Member

I have the 32" Exmark and it's a real workhorse. I bought it at the end of 2001 and it has run trouble free from day one. It isn't the most agile of mowers so tight spot take a little more effort since it's soooo long. The 13 HP motor is great and the 5 speed tranny runs at a fast trot.

6. DSTR

DSTR LawnSite Member

The Gravely is $200 less than the Exmark. This price difference isn't a factor. IBGreen, is there any particular reasons why you are picking the Exmark over the Graverly?

7. DSTR

DSTR LawnSite Member