Exmark or Scag

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Dan K, Mar 30, 2003.

1. Dan K

Dan K LawnSite Member
    from florida

Hey All,
    I'm getting ready to purchase a 60" ZTR.The 2 that I'm interested in are,(1)Liquid cooled 27hp Lazer 60" or (2)Liquid cooled 27hp or 29hpDFI Turf Tiger 61".
    Freind of mine has the 27hp Turf Tiger.IT has execellent cut,but he discharges.So I have no experience w/mulching with this machine.
    I demo'd the Exmark and had them set it up to discharge,so I could compare apples to apples?.It was leaving some stringers??
    This was on Bahia.
    Most seem to think the Exmark has a better cut,or are happier w/Exmark.
    Don't know which way to go!
  2. fatboy5803

fatboy5803 LawnSite Senior Member

All I can say is I've seen both machines results and both leave a nice finish, that's on St Aug grass.. Good Luck..

Lou :cool:
  3. yardman1

yardman1 LawnSite Senior Member

If you are going to be cutting bahia get the scag, from my experiences the exmark does not cut bahia, but the scag will and do a good job. I have one and going to buy another Turf Tiger.

4. bam

bam LawnSite Senior Member
    from .

have several TT 72 with a 27hp. they run great, and have a decent cut. this year we'll be purchasing some 72 exmarks, with the 27hp lc. so I'll know more in a few months. we have 4 61 TT with Kohlers and 4 exmark lazers with Kohlers ranging from 800-2200hrs of use. both manufacturer a good machine, however we cut some serious grass with the 2 lc TT. Nice machines.
  5. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member

ExMark.........has yet to let me down. going on 3 years, never taken it in for service. i love it
  6. mklawnman

mklawnman LawnSite Senior Member