1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Exmark vs Scag vs Hustler???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by scottm1, Oct 15, 2007.

1. scottm1

scottm1 LawnSite Member
    from Mo

I think I have narrowed down my choices between the Scag, Exmark, and the Hustler. All in the 25-27 hp range, 60-61 cut. The local dealer here sells all 3 brands under one roof. The salesman at the dealer says he likes the Hustler because of what he says Hustlers require less pressure on the controls. I like the the looks of the Scag as far as ruggedness. The Exmark is good looking too, bay a little more pricier than the Hustler. I know the general opinions on this website puts the Exmark and the Scag at the top, but does the Hustler rank up there too. I have never used a ZTR before, so I am not really sure what I am looking for in a ZTR.
  2. TAZ

TAZ LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

you should really try to demo all 3. I know what I would buy but your in a different area with different experince level.

All three are well built machines. All are of good quality and the dealer is the same in this case. The resale on the Scag and Exmark would probably be slightly higher simply based on brand awareness.

3. Mike Blevins

Mike Blevins LawnSite Bronze Member

I cant tell you about the hustlers but the scags will hold hills better than the Exmarks. I have used both of these and its Scag hands Down. You also can search the Triton Deck problems on here. As for the velocity deck on the Scag it is "simply the best " deck I have used. You will not go wrong with the Scag name period.:weightlifter:
  4. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic