Expanding Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by dgZtrak737, Aug 22, 2007.

1. dgZtrak737

dgZtrak737 LawnSite Member

Hello
    I am new to lawnsite, and have read some valueable information on here. I have a lawn service part time and I work full time. I CANT, and i must stress CANT quit my job. The benifits are to good. State Retirement, Free Insurance, Steady pay check. I currently have 9 accounts residential, and commercial. It keeps me busy. I operate solo. One Mower, One Trimmer, One Edger, One Blower. I do it all. I want to expand, but how? How much money (gross) would you have to be making before you started a crew. Is it even a good idea, or would it be more of a headace than its worth. I need some advice from some of you big guys.

2. Dunn's

Dunn's LawnSite Bronze Member

I recommend if you have a steady paying job with benies. To spend some time with your family especially your kids. Wants the time is gone you can't rewind it.

I really have never understood why people want are always trying to come up with a new way to work after they get off after their regular job especially if they never plan on taking it full time.

Thats my .02 cents ignore them like we all know you will.

3. dgZtrak737

Wow
    That Seemed Kinda Like A Smart Response, I Figured I Would Get Something Like That Me Being Part Time.

4. Laner

Laner LawnSite Senior Member

dgZtrak737 -I also work a full-time job during the day. I have a couple part-time employees that help me get my lawns done. Had a couple full-time (seasonal) employees, but one didn't want to work any more and the other left a couple months ago to work in a factory. With the accounts that I have it has been difficult to keep up, but we are managing so far.