Expanding into the irragation side of the industry.

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Superiorlandscaping, Nov 3, 2002.

1. Superiorlandscaping

Superiorlandscaping LawnSite Member
    from Ma

Alright here, i am planning on expanding my operations to include installing inground sprinkler systems. As of now, I have no information or knowledge on teh subject. I have told past clients that I am in going to expand into the irragation market. When i say irragation i mean sprinkler systems.

1) what liscenses do i need?
    If i do need a liscense where would i get one, in ma, and how much. Any courses needed.
    2) what tools do i need?
    I seen a trailor that looks like it splices the grass in order to put down tubing. i need information on every tool i am going to need if possible. Thanks
    3) what supplies should i stock up on, fittings, heads, control units, should i be brand loyal,
    4) how to price jobs. (mark-ups, hourly rates etc.)
    5) Are there any websites that will assist my learning of the subject.
    6)List of brands that i am going to have to come familar with and dealers in teh northeast that sell them.

Thank you so much for your time. This information will be greatly appreciated.

2. therainman

therainman LawnSite Member
    from IL

Let me start by saying DO NOT DO IT!!!
    If you have to ask all of these questions, then you have not done the needed research and therefor will not be able to provide qaulity systems to your customers.
    This is the very thing driving prices down..... people who do not have the slightest clue doing half a** work for half a** money.
    In my area I am the only irrigation company doing residential installs and currently do not have to deal with uneducated lowballers, I can however see this is about to happen. All the other lco's saying, "that must be good money."