Expanding the business

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by nice-n'-strait, Apr 23, 2008.

1. nice-n'-strait

nice-n'-strait LawnSite Member

Hi my name is Drew Williams and I am new to Lawnsite. I have been in the business now for about 3 years with new additions to my equipment over the span of those years.

This is 2 years ago with my first mower
    DSCF0094.jpg DSCF0160.jpg

and this is what i have now along with the 31 x 10.5 tires and the 3.5" suspension lift

DSCF0001.jpg DSCF0003.jpg

I recently grabbed a Stihl FC 95 edger and the jungle jims racks

here is 1 more pics to show you what kind of work i do. im proud

0521071602.jpg

Im 18 years old and a freshman in college. I started 3 years ago with my dad's rider :)

ok so now you know my story. I want to know some way to expand my business. what equipment am i missing that would expand my horizon and make me more money by allowing me to do more stuff. etc. chainsaw, pole pruner, hedge pruners..w/e

DSCF0094.jpg

DSCF0160.jpg

DSCF0001.jpg

DSCF0003.jpg

0521071602.jpg

2. LedgedaleLawn

LedgedaleLawn LawnSite Senior Member

Looks, good! Just make sure you don't expand to fast, that can be the biggest downfall of a small business.

3. Paulup

Paulup LawnSite Senior Member

When its all paid off, buy the extras and put them to work :D

Looks good man, keep it up.

4. nice-n'-strait

nice-n'-strait LawnSite Member

So what kind of services can I offer other than cutting, edging, etc? I do lots of spring / fall clean-ups as that is very much needed by everyone.

5. billslawn89

billslawn89 LawnSite Bronze Member

upsell to your customers that you have now, shrub trimming, mulching, flower/shrub planting. strips looks good!

6. mngrassguy

mngrassguy LawnSite Silver Member

Get your pesticed license. I do more revenue in fert/weed control now than I ever made mowing

7. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member