Expansion

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by walshdevo10, Aug 9, 2006.

1. walshdevo10

walshdevo10 LawnSite Member

I had this problem in the past and want a little advice. I have been doing this for 4 + years now solo. About 1 1/2 years ago I deceided to go for it and expand, as in several employees etc. Well I got the first one hired. At this time I was doing 61 myself. Within a couple weeks I was up to 78 accounts with 1 employee. I noticed that we just couldn't keep up. To this day I really haven't figured out what the problem was. He was working hard as I was too. Now of course ya can't be paying an employee when you can't keep up with enough accounts to pay him. I was a store manager with Walgreens for 10 years before doing this so I know the business side but for the life of me I can't figure out how to grow the business without hitting the same pitfall. The goal would be to become a business owner not just self-employed, (not getting any younger), something to pass on to the son or sell later on for a good nest egg. It just would not be fair to an employee(s) to hire them on to only have to let them go because of lack of accounts etc.Of course not many things in life are a guarantee. Now the previous time I advertised out the ying yang which I would do again if I went for it. Basically the bottom line question is...what has worked for you in the past in this situation to cover the gap from hiring to aquiring enough accounts to pay employees and have some $$$ for yourself and the business? I'm married with 3 kids so there goes the idea of using capital from the business to cover the expenses. Everything goes back into the business as working funds or home to pay the bills, nothing in savings. Credit sucks thanks to my ex-wife. Maybe I just can't do it until I get better credit? I just don't want to lose what I have worked so hard for if I get injured etc., or would be nice to take a vacation when the kids are actually out on summer break! Yea ri