1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Expensive vs cheap?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Liendeni, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Liendeni

Liendeni LawnSite Member

This may be the same thread as large lots verus small but I am wondering what the common thought process is (maybe the same...sorry) of expensive homes versus cheap?

What I mean by that is everybody seems to want the upscale estates but do you see more profit in the cheaper homes?

I am new to the green industry but I seem to be learning the hard way. The cheaper the outer view of the home...the greater the per minute hourly wage seems to be, meaning my lowest profit is with the most expensive homes.

Am I alone????
  2. hackitdown

hackitdown LawnSite Silver Member

All my best customers have modest homes. I'd rather cut a 10K sq/ft lawn for $45 than a 30K sq/ft lawn for $60. Clean-ups on small lots seem to be more profitable. Since I am solo, a small lot usually has smaller mulched areas, so I can do them easily.

I prefer non-picky customers. Customers that buy expensive homes in upscale neighborhoods are very concerned about details that the regular guy in his 1970's ranch just doesn't care about.

I guess it would be different if I had 10 employees to keep busy.
  3. CAG

CAG LawnSite Senior Member
    from ct