expert help needed

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by rbig, Nov 1, 2004.

1. rbig

rbig LawnSite Member

Got a situation I need some expert help with, so am calling on this group for that.

I have a garden tractor with a K532 engine. This tractor runs absolutely great---when it runs. I mow approx 20 acres with it, so need it running during the growing season.

I restored this tractor from the ground up a couple years or so ago. A friend who used to work for a big small engine shop rebuilt the engine for me.

I have worked on equipment for years. I'm a good mechanic, but not so good as a diagnostician.

What my tractor does is:

1. Sometimes start, sometimes not

2. When it starts, it runs great, and has full power.

3. Runs for a random interval, then dies suddenly.

4. When it doesn't start, it simply won't fire, even with a whiff of ether.

5. After sitting for awhile, it will normally restart just fine.

6. Generally, the run time gets shorter, while time before it will restart gets longer.

The situation is very frustrating.

Here's what I've recently done to it:

a. new factory coil
    b. new points
    c. new plugs
    d. new plug wires
    e. new air cleaner filter
    f. electric fuel pump checks OK; sounds normal, and pumps a good stream when hose slipped off carb and pump run.
    g. regulator/rect unit seems OK; battery is charging fine, with just over 12vdc going in.

My impression is that the problem may be temperature related, but not sure on that (as it will sometimes restart when hot).

What's left to replace? Ignition switch (easy and cheap), and electric fuel pump (easy and not too expensive). What else that might cause this?

Sure would appreciate some thoughts on directions I can head out in getting a good fix on this thing.

I don't know this specific engine. Are there known issues with it that relate to my problem?

2. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY