1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Extreme newbie here!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by CBus, Mar 28, 2004.

1. CBus

CBus LawnSite Member

My buddy and I just got our tax refunds back, got wild hairs up our you-know-whats, and decided to start a lawn care business. I've been in retail management for the past 5 years, so I think I'm good as far as bookkeeping, etc. If some of you could answer some questions I have, that'd be great.

A little info on what we've decided to do, first. We already have a truck, and we've decided not to buy any riding mowers yet. It's just the two of us, so we're buying two push mowers, two string trimmers, and an edger. We're gonna float out some business cards, print some flyers, knock on a few doors, and see what happens.

Now, my questions:

1. We're having a heck of a time thinking of a name. We're both named Mike, so we were just going to call it Mike & Mike's, but that sounds kind of two-bit/unproffessional IMO. Maybe if some of you could tell me how you came up with your names, that'd be extremely helpful.

2. Is there any equipment that we're REALLY going to need at first that I haven't thought of?

3. It's too late, my mind has gone blank. I can't think of 1 of the hundreds of other questions I thought of earlier. :confused:
  2. goodbeus

goodbeus LawnSite Senior Member