1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

F-250 Suspension

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by waterchikn, Dec 18, 2000.

1. waterchikn

waterchikn LawnSite Member

Hello all, I am just getting into plowing for the first time
    here in MI since it has already snowed 16" even before "winter" actually arrived. I have a 1990 F-250 and I am
    very dissappoited with the front suspention. I can't seem to understand why they (ford) would even keep such a poor design. Dont get me wrong tho, I love the truck and I suppose if it was new the suspension would work ok, but after 100,000 miles, it is done. wore out, I am lost as where to start on the parts that need to be replaced. I have seen some 250's with a solid axle and am very impressed
    The thing that I am not sure about, is if it would be worth
    the time and cash to do a swap. I have read in 4wheel&Offroad where guys have made the swap, but they just tell you the basics of it, maybe someone out there might know why ford ever kept the application and how to resolve it. The main problem I am having (besides the balljoints and other front end parts) is the main frame support where the two "axles" come together under the truck, the holes in which the bolts go through are ovaled out real bad, the results of that as you could imagine are sucky, having to loosen the bolts, readjusting the front end, then tighening the bolts back and hope it lasts 2 months, maybe.....
    please help...
  2. John DiMartino

John DiMartino LawnSite Silver Member