Fall Cleanup Productivity

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chevyman1, Nov 8, 2004.

1. chevyman1

chevyman1 LawnSite Senior Member

This weekend, my brother in law and I did 9 homes, 3 of which were huge places with a ton of leaves (1500 gallons each place). We had the Cyclone Rake behind the 60 inch Dixie, a hand held JD blower, my brand new RedMax 7001, a tarp, couple rakes...anyways, between the two of us, we grossed $1900 working 8-5 Saturday and 8-4 yesterday and made 1 trailer dump of leaves each day. How does that stack up? Are we in decent shape for a two man show or ahead or behind?

2. Smithers

Smithers LawnSite Silver Member

Chevy, i am no expert at fall price bidding, but i think you could have gotten more if you did 9 places and each had a ton of leaves.

I mean, you got a little more than $200 per house. you two worked 34 man hours for $1900, not incuding the equipment cost. That is $55/man hour

3. chevyman1

onely 3 were really heavy, the rest very light...thanks for the input

4. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member

$55 per man hour does not seem that bad. sounds like you guys knocked out some good work, and that equipment is helping out a ton.
    you really have to determine whether your area's market can pay more or not, and base the next time you charge on that.
    Sounds like a very profitable weekend though, good job!

5. grassyfras

grassyfras LawnSite Bronze Member

You blew what I made away. I cant seem to get more then 30 per hour. I cant bid or sell it for more then about that amount.

6. chevyman1

I NEVER get my hourly rate on leaf cleanups or lawns. $200 to get rid of all your leaves in a 1/2 lot and blow out the beds etc which two of us in a normal place take about 1.5 hrs, sounds FAR better than telling somone yeah, uh $110 an hr for both of us doesn't it?

7. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic