Fall Renovation ?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by SpudsM15, Aug 17, 2005.

1. SpudsM15

SpudsM15 LawnSite Senior Member

Guys from the north east...
    What seed do you guys prefer for renovations. Double Aerating, Light topsoil and peat moss mix to fill the holes. Seed also raked in...

Also About how much coverage do you get in terms of SQ. FT for a topsoil peat moss mix???
  2. Dreams To Designs

Dreams To Designs LawnSite Bronze Member

Sun or shade? Irrigation or none? Soil type? Why peat moss?

If you want to improve the soil add compost.

3. SpudsM15

Well Any condition... Shade or sun.... Decent lawn.... Totally burnt, Reseed...

I use peat moss because it does not stink... It retains moisture good and adds to the organic content of the soil....
    I'm still learning what to do... I've had decent results with peat moss...
  4. Dreams To Designs

Peat moss adds no organic benefits to the soil. It does hold moisture and take up space, and that is all. Properly cured compost will add organic matter, micro organisms, nutrients and hold water when needed and improve drainage in heavy soils. You will have better results with compost. Be wary of "organic topsoils". Many are a slimy, sticky mess that the dealers tell you is improved soil.

As for seed, a turf type tall fescue blend with about 10% bluegrass added in seems to be the best for overall use. Check with your local supplier to see what works best in your area, but I have had good success with this recipe in South Orange and Kinnelon, as well as the southern half of the state.

5. Love2Cut

Love2Cut LawnSite Member

One of the advantages of Peat is that it doesnt contain weed seed. Where is the best place to get good compost that is cured properly so there wont be any weed seed?
  6. Dreams To Designs

Your right, peat does not normally contain weed seed, as it will not sustain growth. Peat is also acidic, which will not benefit turfgrass.