Febuary advertising.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by A1Lawns, Feb 2, 2008.

1. A1Lawns

A1Lawns LawnSite Member

For those of us in and around the northeast, what's the earliest you ever advertised and did you get enough calls to make it worth your while? With there being no snow for almost 2 months here now, and still none in the forecast, I'm getting anxious to do something with my business.
    I was thinking of passing out my ads all throughout Febuary.
    Yes I also posted this in another thread but havent gotten any feedback.

Thanks! :weightlifter:

2. lawnkingforever

lawnkingforever LawnSite Bronze Member

I am no expert, but I am starting to advertise in about 2 weeks. I may not get many calls this early in the season, but atleast my name will be out there. Better to start too early than too late. Bought a new backpack blower today and was out in the yard blowing dead branches around, pretty pathetic, but I am ready to roll.

3. barefeetny

barefeetny LawnSite Senior Member

about a couple weeks more for me...

i never stop my marketing, everyone who Dreams of spring and warm weather on the checkout line gets a card and a few minutes of my sell

actually i probably make more sales through the coffee line then any other way execpt for refferals.....

maybe instead of door to door i should just loiter in front of the mini mart like jay and silent bob...

Nate

4. Barefoot James

Barefoot James LawnSite Senior Member

What else are you doing? When it's time to work you better have jobs. Blowing sticks around the back yard??? Your competition is out delivering flyer's. I have picked up 5 new accounts in last two weeks and two of them are worth big money - enough to pay my son in law pretty good PT bucks. If I told you how much you would not believe it - but suffice to say, go deliver flyer's and keep doing it until you have too much work.

5. Icemanku

Icemanku LawnSite Member

when you say deliver fliers do you mean knock on doors?