Ferris Mowers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by SMOOTHCUT, Apr 28, 2006.

SMOOTHCUT LawnSite Member

Hi, I am new, this is my first time to post. I know a lot is said about ZTR brands. Could anyone please give me info on their experience with Ferris ZTRs. I am considering purchasing one to start a business. I have researched several brands and I'm sure they are all good. Very little is said on here about Ferris. Thank you all very much for your responses.
  2. JTF40

JTF40 LawnSite Senior Member

I don't own one - however, a close friend of mine has owned Ferris a number of years and he loves them. Last week, he purchased his third Ferris - a IS3100 w/72" deck and a 32 hp Big Block Vanguard. I cut one property with it and it is very nice. It surpasses my Kubota in comfort (only) with the IS - very comfortable and smooth. If I wasn't partial to the Kubota diesel engine, I would definately purchase a Ferris. Just my opinion............:usflag:
  3. Budget

Budget LawnSite Senior Member
    from Pa.

I purchased a 1500 52' 25hp. this year. So far i can't complain about it at all. Just yesteday i was cutting a hill that was not so smooth and had to make a turn up that hill and i could feel the machine flex to the ground and didn't spin one tire and right up the hill she went. The Scag i use to have last year spun on the turf in that same spot. Scag is also a great machine too. I think if you can find a good dealer close to you that's what counts, good service. All machine will brake at some time.
    Good luck.
  4. brudot

brudot LawnSite Member
    from CT

I don't have any experience with other ztr brands but I did buy a Ferris this year. So far it seems to be great. Good cut. Mine doesn't have the Independent Suspension and the comfort is ok for an old man like me if you don't go full speed on rough terrain. I'm not sure that I'm going to like changing the oil filter. It looks like a real "bear".
  5. 2 clowns mowing

2 clowns mowing LawnSite Senior Member