Ferris or Dixie Chopper

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TurfTamer, Apr 9, 2003.

1. TurfTamer

TurfTamer LawnSite Member

I am in my second year and doing pretty well. I am currently running a 48" John Deere with 7-iron deck. I am looking into a 61" mower for some of my larger props. Speed is important, but not at the expense of quality. I have demoed the Ferris with 4 wheel independant suspension, but have not cut with it yet. It does ride like a dream!! The dealer is going to bring it out to one of my jobs to demo when the weather breaks. I am also looking at the Dixie choppers. Also going to demo this week. weather permitting. I don't see many companies running either of these machines in my area. Was wondering if any of you would have a reason why. Also, any input on which you prefer and why would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Danny :confused:

2. crazygator

crazygator LawnSite Bronze Member

Last year I bought a new chopper. This year I sold it and bought a new Exmark. I will never ever own another chopper. I will always own an Exmark.

3. TurfTamer

That bad?
    :eek:

4. jsr2741

jsr2741 LawnSite Senior Member

Danny, there are two rules to purchasing equipment; demo and dealer service, if the two mowers are comparable in price and quality of work then the only determining factor is who's going to give you better service. If one cuts a little better than the other then the only decision is; who's going to give me better service.

You should always shop your dealers as well as the product they sell. I would actually buy a machine that may have a few more things I don't like about it if I know that dealer is going to treat me fairly and stand by his product.

Hope this helps.

5. jsr2741

jsr2741 LawnSite Senior Member

Oh yeah, dittos on what crazygator said. Exmark!

6. Evan528

Evan528 LawnSite Silver Member