Ferris v. eXmark (belt)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by stryper, Apr 29, 2005.

1. stryper

stryper LawnSite Member
    from IL

I did read the previous Ferris v. eXmark thread, but that was specific to hydros, and I just can't go that route right now...

So, I think I've finally narrowed down my search to these two machines:

48" Metro Dealer quote $2899, list $3299, will throw in Gators (eXmark version), oil filter, belt, and upgrade to ECS controls.

and

48" UltraBelt GD Dealer quote $2899, no mention of list price, no freebies.

Financing is the same on both, dealer support appears to be relatively equal, though maybe leaning a bit toward Ferris.

So, any thoughts on which is the better deal? (Seems kinda obvious on the surface.) Are there any significant differences in the cut quality, striping, or serviceability? Each dealer obviously favors what he sells; as I am new to this, I haven't a clue which is better. Is the ECS that much better of a control setup, or is it more of a gimmick? (I'm only going at this as a small part-timer right now, doing 1/2 acre residentual lots.) Will scalping be a real issue with the fixed 48" decks?

Thanks again for the input.

2. lawncare3

lawncare3 LawnSite Bronze Member

I REALLY like my metro. I personally like it better then my previous hydro... (and the hydro was GREAT) I would aim for the metro.

3. lawncare3

Btw the eXmark stripes the BEST it's striping abilities are up there with bobcat. I didn't even have to add a kit. :)

4. KathysLGC

KathysLGC LawnSite Bronze Member

Speak for your self...... The Exmark I think is lighter which might help in some cases. To me, the ECS controls are not all that great. There are basically economical pistols grips. I have long arms and prefer the standard pistol grips to the ECS. Does the Ferris GD have bigger tires then the Exmark?

5. stryper

stryper LawnSite Member
    from IL

Tires are the same, according to the specs

6. mkwl

mkwl LawnSite Bronze Member