Fert Prices: Decided not to buy fertilizer early

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lawnlandscape, Dec 7, 2010.

1. lawnlandscape

lawnlandscape LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

With all the hype about fertilizer prices going through the roof I was strongly considering ordering everything I would need for 2011 in now. In previous years we would order the amount we needed right before each application.

After spending the past 2 days researching the corn futures, analyzing the market, and speaking to different suppliers I have decided NOT to buy my fertilizers early. Don't quote me on this, because I am not an expert at all, but based on my own personal research, I would expect the price of corn to remain about the same as it is now until spring.

My supplier did tell me that if I did want to buy now, he would write terms so the payment would not be due until May 15th 2011. But, corn is higher then it normally is already, and will be kicking myself if it goes down and I had to store it all winter and also pay more.

If it goes up another 10%, I will reconsider ordering early, but I just don't see it going up $2-$3 a bag by spring.

What does everyone else honestly think?

2. rcreech

rcreech Sponsor
    Male, from OHIO

lawnlandscape,

Here we go....I promise I will be nice! :)

You can research corn futures all you want and you won't learn a thing. We are in uncharted waters right now and nobody can predict the market. This summer they were calling for $2.80 corn...and low and behold we had a short crop and it is now $5.60. They are saying possible $7 corn this spring.

The other player in the market is the funds. Grain markets used to be controlled by weather and usage...and not it is controlled by the funds markets and they will ride the market up and then cash out. That is why there is so much volatility in the market now.

Five years ago it would move a nickel of dime a day...and now it will move $.50 in 10 minutes.