fertilizer and herbicide

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by fordnut, Mar 3, 2007.

1. fordnut

fordnut LawnSite Member

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting. I have a couple of questions. I'am still a rookie at this so I hope ya'll can help. This one client wants her yard fertilized and treated for weeds. She mainly has fescue with some bermuda, what do you recommend for fertilizer and pre or post emergence herbicide. How would you apply it. I live in northeast NC and her yard is almost 3 acres.....Thanks

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

I would recommend a reputable local guy that is licensed and let him apply what it is that he uses.

3. willietd2

willietd2 LawnSite Member
    from OHIO

ouch ouch ouch

4. fordnut

fordnut LawnSite Member

I'am sorry I forgot to mention that I'am Licensed. I just got them. That is why I said I was new at this.

5. Shades of Green LService

Shades of Green LService LawnSite Bronze Member

What are the conditions of the turf? Is it over riden w/ weeds? if so what kind, broadleaf or grassy? How will you be applying the products? If you can answer these questions advise will be able to be offered more effectively.
    Jay

6. fordnut

fordnut LawnSite Member

Thanks for responding Jay. The turf is in good shape.This time of year the henbit is getting thick and later on the dandilions are everywhere.About application, for a 3 acre yard would you use grandular or spray....Thanks

7. Shades of Green LService

Shades of Green LService LawnSite Bronze Member

For pre emergent i would reccomend a combination Fertilizer granular product.Such as Dimension or Stonewall. If your soils are sandy i would go with Stonewall (prodiamine) For post emergent crabgrass you'll need a herbicide with msma, fenoxaprop or Quinclorac. For a broader spectrum of broad leafs, 2,4D. Hope this was of some help.
    -Jay

8. RAlmaroad

RAlmaroad LawnSite Silver Member
    from SC