Fertilizer! How do you charge / Liquid or Granular?

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by jasonnau, Mar 16, 2005.

1. jasonnau

jasonnau LawnSite Senior Member

Up front- I am a pretty much a rookie here. I have just passed the pesticide operators exam. Many of my customers have asked about fertilization in the last year that I've been in business. This year I'm offering it along with mowing, landscaping, and other services in the lawn maintenance field. I already have about 9 customers, and I'm sure I could add at least 50% of my customers. Situation one: I have no idea how to sell the service. I'm sure it's sold by square footage, but how much per? Do the prices change for a weed and feed, or a pre-emergent crabgrass application. Do you bill it the same and spread it out throughout the year even if the products differ in price? Also, Situation 2: I bid a customers lawn at $75.00 per (granular) application 5/year. They are a new customer this year having mowing, mulching, etc. Before I came around, they had a fert company bid it (truegreen), truegreen hadn't gotten back to them until after they said yes to mine. Truegreen bid it at 45.00 per application (liquid application). Of course, I had to explain the difference. Now, I'm not sure If I told the truth. From what I've heard from others in the field, liquid fert. applications do not last as long as granular applications. And I've noticed that some of my customers that do it themselves have the healthiest lawns of all that I mow. Most use the scott's granular 4 step program. How can I justify the difference in price between my granular application and trugreen's liquid? Like I said, I'm just trying to get a plan here, and I'm still a rookie.

2. jasonnau