1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Fertilizer Sprayers

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by Premiumlawns, Mar 21, 2014.

1. Premiumlawns

Premiumlawns LawnSite Member

I am new to the fertilizing world. I am currently using granular fertilizer that covers about 9,000 sq per 40lbs bag. My cost is about $25 a bag. I am not making too much profit because I don't want to charge my customers an outrageous amount. I have a few accounts that are 30,000 - 50,000 sq that I mow and I would like to give them a reasonable rate to fertilize and also make a good profit.

I am looking at a sprayer from tractor supply to start off with. It sprays at 2.1 gpm and has a 30 gal tank. I know its not big but it would do to start with. Here's the link.

http://www.tractorsupply.com/en/store/countylinereg;-trailer-sprayer-30-gal

Let me know if this is something I could make work for awhile or not.

2. greendoctor

greendoctor LawnSite Fanatic

A 30-50,000 lawn area requires a 200 gallon tank. Do a search on liquid fertilizers. I agree that they can be a good tool for management of warm season grasses growing under difficult conditions. However, you need the right equipment to make the application. A 30 gallon tank is good for maybe 12,000 sq ft max and the pump system had better be capable of 6 GPM to make that application in an economical amount of time.

3. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

Shop around. The main problem is that your fert cost is too high. Talk to several suppliers. Dry fertilizer is faster and the equipment is cheaper--the application just costs less, due to labor and equipment savings.
    Remember you cannot apply crabgrass or weed control without spray certification.
    I assume you are not licensed--try to get your spray license.

4. lilmarvin4064