Fertilizer w/pre-emergent Crabgrass control....

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by palawnman, Mar 6, 2006.

1. palawnman

palawnman LawnSite Member
    from PA

This maybe a stupid question, if it is I apologize, I just recently got certified to apply pesticides. Someone told me today that if you seed a lawn and put down fert w/pre-emergent crabgrass control, that the seeds will not be able to germinate. He said that the pre-emergent prevents any new germination. I had always thought that you could aerate and seed and as long as you wait 30-45 days after you seed that you could still apply crabgrass pre-emergent (as long as it is the right time of year). Am I way off on this. Like I said, I am new to this and trying to learn as much as I can, and want to do things the right way. Do pre emergents prevent new germination completely, or am I safe putting down preemergents as long as it is after 30 days? Thanks in advance.

Ron

2. DUSTYCEDAR

DUSTYCEDAR LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

PRE EMERGENTS = NO GRASS SEED COMMING UP
    its a tricky game to play with in the spring i would wait to seed in fall
    if not seen now but no pre emergents

3. palawnman

from PA

Thanks for the reply. Another question, if I aerate & seed & starter fert now (or in a couple of weeks), is it okay to apply fertilizer with broadleaf weed control, by may-june? I really appreciate the info, I am not trying to take short cuts, just kinda learning as I go, its amazing even with passing the test, I dont think that you really learn everything you need to know. Thanks

Ron

4. DUSTYCEDAR

DUSTYCEDAR LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

where r u working out of?
    the lable will tell u how long to wait to apply after the grass is up
    all r different

5. palawnman

from PA

I am in Chester County, I thought that it was 30 days, but I will look it up to make sure, thanks alot for your help.

Ron

6. NattyLawn

NattyLawn LawnSite Bronze Member