Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by ckrantz, Sep 19, 2006.

1. ckrantz

ckrantz LawnSite Member

Hello, I'm kind of new to the landscaping business. I've been offering mowing, pressure washing, tree removal services on the side now for quite some time.

A lot of my customers ask me to not only cut their lawn but they want it to be greener than the neighbors. I tell them to just call chemlawn or a comperable company. And they come out and charge a pretty hefty fee and the lawn looks great (especially after I mow it).

Well I was always afraid to get into the Fertilizers side of the business. Can anyone give me links to places that carry a whole supply of Fertilizers and all of the different products I need to help my customers??

My question is, those truegreen and chemlawn trucks have these nice big old tanks on the back.. Are they liquid Fertilizers or Pesticides?? I've always heard that solid time released fertilizers are better than liquid.

So in short.. whats in the name brand tanks, and second I need the links to a bulk and med bulk supplier of lawn care products.
  2. JWTurfguy

JWTurfguy LawnSite Senior Member

Go to www.lesco.com for info on materials. You can also use the site to determine which Lesco is closest to where you live/work.

As for the tanks on the back of the trucks....it's probably pesticides, although many companies still use liquid ferts as well.
  3. ckrantz

ckrantz LawnSite Member

Thank you for the info, I'm glad to find there is a lesco rep 8 miles from me and I didn't even know it!

I just found out that Maryland doesn't require a applicator license to apply fertilizer, only for pesticides. Honestly I only wanted to give customers the Fertilizer and if they need pesticide I would sub it out.