1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Figuring price by linear and sq ft

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by lawnmasters05, Apr 15, 2006.

1. lawnmasters05

lawnmasters05 LawnSite Member

I have a hedge to bid which is 35 ft in length and 10 ft high (arborvite) and customer would like it down to 5 ft. Most of my competitors here in the NW provide a flat price per job. I have been doing this for a couple years and now want to start measuring everything out and figuring per sq ft of linear ft to arrive at a flat price I am comfortable with offering rather then just winging it and estimating my time out of thin air. My question is does anyone have linear ft $ figures they go by as well as per sq ft for mowing and flowerbed clean-ups. I like to average around $40.00 per labor hour but it is hard to bid $35.00 to $40.00 per labor hour when everyone else is running around giving a flat price per job. I feel by taking the time to measure everything and figure everthing out, I can offer a flat price per job that I feel comfortable with rather then trying to figure out of thin error how many hours a job is going to take me. Any help would be appreciated. Mowing, I figure at $25.00 per 1000 but kind of lost on flowerbeds and hedges.

2. lawnmasters05

lawnmasters05 LawnSite Member

What would you charge for a hedge 35 ft in length and 10 ft high to trim sides and bring down to 5 ft?
  3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Ohhh I dunno, kinda depends what kind of hedge....