filing taxes?????

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by cmorris, Jun 28, 2004.

1. cmorris

cmorris LawnSite Member

:confused: I have been doing lawn maintenance for the past 8 yrs or so. I do this part time, but lately I have been getting more and more commercial biz. I used to just file my taxes at the end of the year. But now my c.p.a has sent me tax i.d. number, I haven't done anything with it though. I am now starting to do alot of installation and buying from wholesail. How will my tax i.d. number help me???
  2. jajwrigh

jajwrigh LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from Martinsville, IN

Your kidding right? This gives the IRS a way to "keep tabs on your business." That number is the social security of taxes. Pay quaterly and be honest ...or else! This obviously applies to all business income residentail or commercial.
  3. TSM

TSM LawnSite Senior Member
    from MA

assuming that you have been honest and paying taxes on revenues earned then the tax id number wont be of any benefit to you.

if you are solo ( i have to assume you are) you dont need the fed tax #....your ss# is all you need.

If you want to open up a business bank account, well many banks, if not all, will require a fed tax #...of course you could open a DBA account with most banks with just your SS#

If you hire employees, well then you will need that fed tax #

your question is how will a fed tax id # help wont
  4. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

Hi CMorris,

Here is some more information that may be helpful from this article.