Finally did it- My first bore under a driveway

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by CAPT Stream Rotar, Aug 15, 2014.

1. CAPT Stream Rotar

CAPT Stream Rotar LawnSite Fanatic

I would like to say first of all that this is the second time I've been around a bore shot. This is my first time of being at the machine control. My helper showed up late, I was rushing to get this done and in my haste I shot the bore a little deep. I started the bore without using the guide bar. I will never rush this process ever again. I would also like to thank Brandon @ Tom's Creek for showing me this process7-8 years ago.

My brand new reaming attachment straight from ditchwitch of New England

My "catch hole"
    When I was digging this I was nervous that there was some clay in here, but the bore blasted right through it.

Using the plywood prevented me from trashing the guys nice grass

The connecting rods, I used a full rod for the initial push and then a half rod to get through.

This is where the rods snapped into my machine

Remember I showed the reamer in the first pic. This is what it looked like after the back ream. I don't think I can return this :). On a sidenote boy it was hot to the touch!!! Also a picture of the Chinese finger which we pulled a 1'' poly and a 3/4 line just incase for the future.. I firmly believe in putting spare lines when possible.

Pipe going in

She was about 15 inches deeper than my incision on the other side.

Starting to pack up

And the final

I learned a lot from this job.
  2. 1idejim

1idejim LawnSite Fanatic

Baby steps Eddie. We all take them!

Nice job!
    Posted via Mobile Device
  3. alldayrj

alldayrj LawnSite Gold Member

Rookie question, what keeps the bore from collapsing over time and the driveway settling and cracking?
    Posted via Mobile Device
  4. irritation

irritation LawnSite Gold Member