1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Finding a good part time or full time employee?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by sgl41377, Jan 2, 2007.

1. sgl41377

sgl41377 LawnSite Member

I have been working solo for about 3 years and grossed $17,100 in 2006. I have a large commercial account, a small commercial account, and about 13 great residential customers. In 2006 I used a 16 year old kid from my church and some day laborers. This year, I would really like to hire someone to help my part time to full time depending on the work load. I can probably afford to pay $10-12 an hour. Where do I start looking? I could easily pick up a day laborer for all my needs but do not know the legality of that. The 16 year old was not very responsible, showed up late, not at all, or made excuses after committing to working. PLEASE HELP ME FIND GOOD HELP.
  2. Duekster

Duekster LawnSite Fanatic
    from DFW, TX

You can look to Job Corp but that is not a great long term solution.

If you have a spanish paper place an ad there.

Be aware, it will cost you plenty of money and rules once you hire someone unless you go under the table. Using 1099 will not help you in a PINCH.
  3. d&rlawncare

d&rlawncare LawnSite Senior Member

Labor Ready will charge you 12-14 an hour around here. You just pay them. They provide the worker, medical, payroll and taxes.
  4. DixieFerris

DixieFerris LawnSite Senior Member

I'm sorry, am I missing something? How the heck do you only gross 17k by yourself in one year? Let alone you also had 'laborers'? do you mean to type 170k?
  5. Duekster

Duekster LawnSite Fanatic
    from DFW, TX

Yep. good in a real pinch. Provided you have good credit.
  6. johndeereguy

johndeereguy LawnSite Member
    from Iowa