Firepit within a paver patio

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by DoubleB, Mar 8, 2007.

1. DoubleB

DoubleB LawnSite Member
    from So.Dak.

I was curious as to if you guys could shed some knowledge on a certain project I have coming in the near future. My buddy wants me to construct him a paver patio in his backyard, he also wants to incorporate a built in firepit, which is fine to me. My question is, when I bring the pattern around the pit how do I protect the pack along the walls of the pit so that my pavers dont lose the pack and sink in. Would I use some sort of snap edging, obviously not the plastic kind for it would melt, or do they make certain materials/products for this. Any instructions/details would help out alot. Thanks guys
  2. waltero

waltero LawnSite Member

I am no expert on firepits, but I did get this info last year at mahts and I haven't had the oppertunity to install one yet. I would think that you could bury one course of the block and then fill the center with 3/4" - inside of the pit and because it is a circle the force should be equal in all directions and basically the forces should cancel. I have answered another firepit question on here and I posted the picture that ephenry had at mahts so it is worth a look. They do make a aluminum edge that I am aware of but I would bet that it would last in a very hot fire, but I could be wrong. I am sure someone who has built a couple of them will answer you also.

check this thread out while you wait....

3. PSUturf

PSUturf LawnSite Senior Member

You could use a heavy gauge steel fire pit ring. The ring should extend from the top of the pavers to several inches below the bottom of the paver base.
  4. DoubleB

DoubleB LawnSite Member
    from So.Dak.