1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

first large scale contract, please help

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Turfdoctor1, May 17, 2006.

1. Turfdoctor1

Turfdoctor1 LawnSite Senior Member

I am currently doing only residential properties between 2000 and 40000 square feet. I have the opportunity do snatch a large 8.5 acre (8.5 acres of grass) subcontracted account for year long weed control and fertilization. I am new in business and have been dragging the hose. This will not be possible for this job, and I must buy some equipment.

I don't want to get screwed, and since I have never used a PG or Z-spray or anything else for large areas, I'm not sure how to bid this account. I know that my product costs for the year will be about $3000. With 33% markup, this makes my product costs $4200 for the year. What about the labor and the extra overhead?

I think that I am going to quote $1800 an application for 6 applications, for a total of $10800 for the year. Does this seem reasonable?? Please help if anybody has ligit input. I have searched the site, so please don't tell me to do so. This guy wants numbers today. So, if anyone has any input, it would be much appreciated. thanks!
  2. indyturf

indyturf LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indy

price sounds about right, I would let them know you are buying a special piece of equipment for this job and have them sign a contract for the year. I have the PG Magnum and use it on all my properties big and small.
  3. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

I suspect that if you get a PG you'll sell your hose-draggin' equipment. I bought a used Ultra this spring, it made my job so much easier. Now I got more time and bucks. How will I spend it? :drinkup: I don't know.
  4. Turfdoctor1