1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

First Mower- New to Business!!

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by kona, Jan 22, 2002.

Best Belt driven 36-48 " walk - behind?

Poll closed Feb 21, 2002.
  1. Exmark

17 vote(s)
  2. Scag

2 vote(s)
  3. Gravely

1 vote(s)
  4. Lesco

1 vote(s)
  5. John Deere

1 vote(s)
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. kona

kona LawnSite Member

Before spring ,I need to purchace a mower to cut my own lawn as well as 5-8 others that have been offered to me.I am new to the business and have a few questions about walk-behind mowers. I have been talking with several people in the business and keep hearing EXmark!!
    - What is the difference between a fixed and floating deck, and can one cut a lawn with a few ruts in it better than the other?( Two of the lawns i will be cutting have a few uneven areas in them caused by water).
    -Hydro or belt drive for slight hills(not too steep)?
    -How do i figure which size mower to purchace?I am debating between a 36" and 48". (no gates or fences to get through)
    Is there a "rule of thumb" to go by as to how big of lawn and what size mower to buy?
    - How is the EXmark 21" i also want to get a smaller mower as well for trimming and tight spots?
    - How long should a Walk Behind of this quality last for my own lawn and a few others? Any idea?
    - What is involved maintiance wise for these type of mowers?
    Thank You for all your help!!!!
    The only dealer i asked these questions to just wanted to sell me something right then and there and not just the right mower for me!!! He new i didn't know anything about mowers except that i heard Exmark was good and i had some money to spend!
  2. cormierlawn

cormierlawn LawnSite Member