First Post and a few questions?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by hillibilly, Feb 12, 2006.

1. hillibilly

hillibilly LawnSite Member

Just want to say hey. I have been looking over these forums latley and have gotten ALOT of good info on the bussiness. Thanks everybody.

I have been mowing yards for the last two years ( this is going to be my first real season by myself) one of them being with my cousin in law. I have about 3 regular yards around my house and since my cousin is quiting, and selling his trailer to me, plus giving me his 10-12 customers I helped him mow last year. But I am planing on getting more yards this season. I really want to go at it in terms of starting up a bussiness that can last me all the way through college(I am 16 now). I despertly need a new riding mower. I have a Craftsman that has been through alot, so I will be buying a new one soon, any suggestions on a "not-to-cheap" "not-to-expensive" one that will be good for the amount of work that I plan on doing?

I also plan on creating flyers to pass out and maybe advertise in the newspaper. This is a big question I have about them. I plan on just making black and white ones because my dad can get them photocopied for next to nothing at his office. Will this be good? I mean to go for the plain black and white one's? In my area there is only about a pop of 22K, and most of these people live in large subdivisions and have pretty nice yards(other words that rich). The other half mostly works nights and such? These are the customers I want to go after. Most customers now are these types. They either sleep during the day, or spend time doing other stuff and don't want to mow or of course there elderly. What way should I go about advertising for these groups?