1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

First ZTR.. Kubota ZD-28 or Hustler super Z.. Help I need Advice.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by webdrifter, Jun 29, 2004.

1. webdrifter

webdrifter LawnSite Member

I've been mowing my lawn for the last two years with a 42" Cub cadet lawn tractor. I mow around 3 acres of mostly open, level to rolling land with the Cub, and I bush-hog an additional 5 acres with my tractor. The yard takes me around 3 1/2 hours each week, and it takes me around 4 to 5 hours once a month to bush-hog. The land that I bushhog is very clean, and would look beautiful mowed like a lawn. So I'm considering a ZTR to do all 8 acres with. I've checked on a new Hustler Super Z with the 27 hp Kohler, and 60" deck. I was quoted a cash price of $7900 plus tax. A man that I work with has decided to get out of the lawn business so He has offered to sell me his 2004 Kubota ZD-28 with 72" pro deck for $8000. I know he takes care of his equipment so I feel like it would be a safe deal. It has around 330 hours on it with some warranty left. After Taxes the Super Z would be around $700 higher than the Kubota. Would the used Kubota be the best deal or would the new Hustler with the full warranty be the way to go? You guys know your mowers so I look forward to any insight that you may have.
  2. txlawnking

txlawnking LawnSite Bronze Member

I really like Hustler's, But, I'd get the Kabooty, IF you take care of it, It will probably last you a LLLOOOONNNGGG time just doing your house, and cost you a lot less in terms of fuel. Those things are like $12.5 I belive, if it's a clean, well kept, low hr machine, I'd snatch it up.
  3. webdrifter

webdrifter LawnSite Member